3 types of lentils Lentils (lehn-təlz) – The lentil (Lens culinaris) is an edible pulse [sometimes called a “grain legume”, an annual leguminous plant yielding from one to twelve seeds of variable size, shape, and color within a pod], known for its lens-shaped seeds.

Lentils are low in fat (just 230 calories for a whole cup of cooked lentils) and high in protein and fiber.  They are used in soups, curries, salads & more.

Lentil colors range from yellow to red-orange to green, brown and black. They also vary in size, and are sold in many forms, with or without the skins, whole or split.

Lentils require a cooking time of 10 to 40 minutes, depending on the variety — shorter for small varieties with the husk removed, such as the common red lentil — and have a distinctive, earthy flavor.

What’s the Difference? Brown, Green, and Red Lentils

more about Lentils

XXX ≈ XXXAKA XXXmore about XXX


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s